Style Matters: Wardrobe Solutions for Legal Professionals

by Nancy Barrood, Esq.

Owner of Buttons and Bow Ties, and Co-author of the soon to be released book The Happy Law Practice:  Expert Strategies to Build Business While Maintaining Peace of Mind

Welcome to the inaugural edition of Style Matters.  I am very excited to share with you my personal observations, research and experience to enable you to reach your personal and professional goals, using one of the major tools of your practice, your personal style.  Yes, you heard me correctly.  I said style.

What does your personal style have to do with practicing law?  So glad you asked. Everything.

Throughout the installments of this blog, we will discuss the impact of your style on your day-to-day efficacy, your mood, and your relationships with your clients.  We will talk about something I like to call ‘dressing to purpose’, and the relationship between clothing and style (believe it or not, they have very little to do with each other).

When I was in law school, I had a wonderful Trial Techniques professor.  The most important information he relayed to our class came in the first thirty seconds of the semester.  He said, (and I am paraphrasing), “Hypothetically, if you intended to break one of the rules of court, which I know that none of you would intentionally do, you must first know the rules of court.”  That nugget has stayed with me during the last quarter decade, and I have come to learn that this bit of wisdom applies to everything, including style.  So, we are also going to learn how to break some style rules, but first we will have to learn them.

Stay tuned for some really fun, informative and entertaining ways to enrich your law practice by infusing your personal style into every aspect of your day.

Until next time, I wish you a stylish day,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

